NARS Summer Dual-Intensity Blush: Sexual Content & Liberation: Review & Swatches

I wasn’t into the original release of NARS Dual-Intensity Blushes, the shades weren’t for me. The new Summer shades Sexual Content and Liberation seemed more neutral and up my alley. So I grabbed both.

Per NARS: “Purely pigmented color with seamless customizable coverage. New Dual-Intensity Blush defies genre with a silky, wet/dry formula of unprecedented artistry. Apply dry for a healthy glow and wet for translucent, second-skin finish. Six modern shade pairings coordinated to wear alone or pair together for a range of dynamic effects and versatility. Housed in a new, modern compact design. NARS exclusive Translucent Prismatic Technology features pearls and pigments perfectly suspended in transparent soft base to allows for multi-dimensional effects with a uniquely weightless, luxurious texture.” The retail is $45 for a 0.22 oz compact.

I found these had a harder top layer, but once you got past that these apply like a dream. The texture is very finely milled and not powdery at all. It’s so lightweight and very buildable without being heavy. These shades give a soft glow effect, the shimmer adds a glow not obvious shimmer. They seem very pigmented when swatched, but they apply sheerer. This made it easier to build the color to your desired intensity. I did find I had better luck applying these using a goat hair or stiffer brush versus a softer brush like squirrel. I had a hard time getting enough product with the softer squirrel brushes, once I switched to my Wayne Goss #13 I had better luck. My advice is to rub the hard top layer off with your finger first, then start using a brush to apply.

Just as an FYI I noticed Sephora has the shade names mixed up with the colors. It wasn’t that way when I bought these from Sephora.com the day they launched. Seems to have been mixed up after.

Left Liberation, Right Sexual Content:

Liberation is described as a light shimmering pink and caramel rose. The left shade is a shimmering coral pink and the right side as a shimmering caramel rose is accurate. Both shades are warm toned. I like both mixed together the best. Gives a nice shimmery warm coral bronzy rose shade, perfect for summer.

Sunlight:

Sexual Content is described as a sandy peach and soft raspberry. I would say that’s pretty accurate, add shimmering to both. Overall, it has a neutral feel, the raspberry isn’t cool. I expected to hate this one as I’m not into cool blush shades but it surprised me. I actually like it more than Liberation. I usually hate raspberry blush shades, but being neutral toned it works for me. I especially like them mixed together the best which gives a warmer peachy raspberry glow that works well for summer. If you can’t do normal raspberry shades because they’re too cool or fushia toned, try this one. Mixing it with the peach also helps.

Sunlight:

Top to Bottom: NARS Sexual Content-Both Sides Mixed, NARS Sexual Content R Side, NARS Sexual Content L Side, Cle de Peau Blush Duo #105 Plum Side, Cle de Peau #105 Lighter Side, Charlotte Tilbury Ecstasy Mixed, MAC Seduced at Sea Extra Dimension Blush:

Top to Bottom: NARS Liberation-Both Sides Mixed, NARS Liberation L Side, NARS Liberation R Side, MAC Seduced at Sea, Rouge Bunny Rouge Habanera, Becca Sweetpea, Chanel Joues Contraste Rose Bronze:

Author: Michelle

Mom. Wife. Great Dane Lover. Artist turned RN. Almost 40 Beauty Lover & Blogger.

Leave a comment