Giorgio Armani Eye Tint: 8 Flannel, 10 Senso, 11 Rose Ashes: Review & Swatches

Armani came out with these Eye Tints a while ago and I’ve been meaning to review them for a while. I picked up Senso, Flannel and Rose Ashes. Per Armani’s website: “Eye Tint is the 1st to market liquid tint for eyes. The innovative formula transforms from liquid to solid, instantly adhering to the eye lid providing 16 hours of fault-proof, smudge-free and crease-free wear. 12 luminous runway inspired shades can be used as an eye shadow or eye liner, and infinitely layered for natural to glamorous looks.” These come in a lipgloss style tube with a sponge tip applicator and retail for $38, so they are quite pricey.

Top to Bottom: Senso, Rose Ashes, Flannel:

Sunlight for complexity:

They are as described, a long lasting liquid to powder eyeshadow. They are all shimmery but not glittery. Armani, like Chanel, does refined shimmer well with no glitter. I find they last a long time and don’t crease. I use Urban Decay’s Eye Primer Potion as a base. They do vary a little bit in texture, some are thicker, some are thinner. Flannel and Senso are thinner, Rose Ashes is thicker. The thinner ones apply a touch sheerer.

They can be blended together and layered, though you need to work quickly as they set very fast. I have tried different brushes and used my fingers for application. I prefer the Chikuhodo Takumi series T7 brush the most for applying. It’s a smaller, slightly fluffy white goat hair brush and it applies and blends the easiest. I get better blending with this brush than my fingers. They are not waterproof, a little soap and water and the Eye Tint comes off my hand with ease.

Senso is a shimmery deep cool brown. Rose Ashes is an iridescent shimmery light peach shade. Flannel is a shimmery grey base with mostly pink and hints of purple iridescence. It kind of reminds me of Armani’s Eyes to Kill in Rose Popillia. The two iridescent shades change in the light. I’m not usually a huge cream or liquid eyeshadow person. I do like the iridescence and complexity of the Armani shades which is the only reason I’m really using these. They are extra work above a powder eyeshadow as far as application. They do last longer though. They’re not a favorite product that I reach for all the time, they’re pricey, and I would only buy another if the shade was something I thought was amazing.

Swatches in multiple lights to show the changes in shades. Top to Bottom: Senso, Rose Ashes, Flannel:

Top to Bottom: Edward Bess Mystery, Armani Senso, Armani Rose Ashes, Armani Armani Flannel, Armani Eyes to Kill #30 Rose Popillia:

Author: Michelle

Mom. Wife. Great Dane Lover. Artist turned RN. Almost 40 Beauty Lover & Blogger.

Leave a comment