Moisturizing Face Masks Comparison: Glam Glow, ilike, Rodial, Sisley, Antipodes and More

Now that winter is almost here, we can all start thinking about moisture rich masks. I have tried quite a few. These are some of my favorites.
L to R in order as above: GLAMGLOW THIRSTYMUD, ilike Hyaluronic Time Erase Gel Mask, Tata Harper Moisturizing Mask, Renee Rouleau Bio Calm Repair Masque, Indie Lee Healing Mask, Rodial Dragon’s Blood Hyaluronic Mask, Michael Todd Avocado and Mango Mask

These are all tissue off masks, meaning you can tissue them off versus rinsing off. Some even claim you can leave them on overnight for extreme moisture. I have some I use more than others. I will point out my favorites as I go through each.

GLAMGLOW THIRSTMUD Mask has these active ingredients: Dewdration™: A blend of actives containing hyaluronic acid and citric acid for deep hydration; boosts and locks in moisture for a dewy, youthful look. Hydrapack™: A blend of actives containing botanimoist, moisturizing sugars and acids from apples, oat beta glucan to soothe and calm the skin, and hydraclay to trap and retain moisture in the skin. GreenEnergy™: A blend of actives containing raw honey and ginger root for radiance and detoxifying; coconut provides immediate skin conditioning. Teaoxi Olive Leaf: Delivers naturally moisturizing linoleic acid. This mask has a honey like color and creamy texture. It’s nice and not too much, it doesn’t break me out. I haven’t used it a whole lot yet but I like the creamy texture.

ilike Organics Hyaluronic Time Erase Mask is a gel mask. It has no major scent and has a basic gel texture. This is perfect to calm after a exfoliating treatment. Horsetail, Yucca, Marshmallow, Ginkgo, Algae, Hyaluronic Acid, Bioflavonoids, Vitamins A, B, C And E, Polyphenols and Phytoestrogens as the main ingredients. It’s similar to any hyaluronic mask I’ve tried. I like it better than a straight up gel mask, but it does have less moisture than a cream texture moisture mask.

I got a sample of the new Tata Harper Moisturizing Mask. Check it out here. This is the most oily of the bunch, I tissued it off but felt like I had to wash after. I didn’t break out the next morning, but I had washed after. This would be the most moisturizing of the bunch. It doesn’t have a strong scent like lots of Tata’s stuff does, but it is stronger than a lot of the others I have. I’m on the fence with whether or not I would buy this, it will have to be tested a few more times, and I’ll have to leave it on overnight without washing once to see as well.

Renee Rouleau Bio Calm Repair Masque has a gel texture which is good for calming after peels and other treatments. The main ingredients are: oat kernel extract, bisabolol, chamomile flower oil. This I got as a gift with purchase, at this point I would not buy it as I like the Rodial and ilike better.This is a basic calming gel mask.

Indee Lee Healing Mask is a gel hyaluronic type mask as well. It’s an off colored gel with no major scent. It comes in a pump and has a great set of ingredients: seaweed, aloe, hyaluronic acid, copper ferment, squalane, arnica, red tea, chamomile, sage, cucumber, rose hip oil. It is however disappointing for me. It dries out on my face and becomes uncomfortable as it dries and cracks. It’s not moisturizing. I decided to try this in the shower, this keeps it moist and allows me to use it up comfortably without the drying and cracking. This also burns around my nose some after applying. I would not re buy this. Shame because the ingredient list is great, it needs something in it to keep it moist.

Rodial Dragon’s Blood Hyaluronic Mask is a clear gel with no major scent. It’s moisturizing on, it’s thicker than the ilike mask but similar. Great for a quick add of moisture without being too much. Besides the hyaluronic acid and Dragon’s Blood extract the ingredient list doesn’t have many other extra wow factors in it. I would ultimately pick the ilike over this and not re buy this one.

Micheal Todd Avocado and Mango Mask is a cream texture mask with a fruit scent. This is one of the only Michael Todd items I like, the rest of their stuff has too strong of a scent for me. The main ingredients are: aloe, sunflower oil, mango and shea butter, olive and jojoba oil, seabuckthorn oil and mango fruit pulp. This is a good mask, but compared to the Antipodes and others I have I wouldn’t re buy this one. There’s nothing wrong with it, I just like a few others better.

L to R in order as above: MyChelle Hydrating Cactus Mask, Sisley Eye Contour Mask, Sisley Hydra-Flash Mask, Sisley Black Rose Cream Mask, Sisley Express Flower Gel Mask, Antipodes Aura Manuka Honey Mask

MyChelle Hydrating Cactus Mask has a blue tint and a creamy texture with a pleasant fruit smell. This has blue agave extract, jojoba seed oil, cactus flower extract, prickly pear, sodium hyaluronate, olives, aloe, copper tripeptide and more. I like it, there’s nothing wrong with it. I’m not sure about re buying it just because I like the Glam Glow, ilike and Antipodes better. I also don’t reach for it as much as the others. This is a 1 oz tube and is fairly pricey for the size.

Sisley Eye Contour Mask is a gel cream like product for the eye area. I love this one, I use it with even non hydrating masks to keep my eye area moist during treatments. It wipes off. It is expensive, but it lasts a long time as you don’t need much for doing the eye area. Active ingredients are: arnica, chestnut tree, gingko biloba, vegetable glycerin, vitamins E and B5, chlorella, malachite, linden, alpha-bisabolol, rose water. I would re purchase this as I have dry eyes and while doing exfoliating treatments it’s nice to not have my eyes itch and dry out. I could try to substitute the ilike or Rodial masks that are similar in texture for this, but the Sisley is just a touch more emollient. 

Sisley Hydra-Flash Formule Intensive is a thicker creamy white mask. This is considered an intensive moisture and hydration mask. It’s nice for that purpose. The active ingredients are sesame, rice, serine, D-Panthenol, vitamin E, jioh, ginkgo biloba, red vine, essential oils of rosewood and marjoram. This is ridiculously expensive for what it is, and I only bought this because I bought a small sample tube off of ebay. I would never re buy it for the retail cost. There are other Sisley masks and other brands that have better options. It’s not bad, it’s just not worth the price.

Sisley Black Rose Cream Mask is a nice mask. This has a gel cream texture, it’s hydrating. Active ingredients: black rose extract, alkekengi calyx extract, padina pavonica extract, vitamin E acetate, red vine, chlorella, essential oil of geranium, rose and magnolia, great mullein extract, shea butter, pro-vitamin B5, vegetable glycerin, phytosqualane. I have nothing bad to say about it other than how expensive it is. That being said, I did get a set of mini tubes off of ebay for much cheaper which made this an easier buy. This provides moisture plus some plumping. I like it, it’s one of the better Sisley masks, I will re buy it in the cheaper small tube form vs full size if I can.

Sisley Express Flower Gel Mask is for hydrating, toning and firming. This is a gel cream texture, more gel like than the Black Rose, similar to the Eye Mask. Active ingredients: lily, iris, sesame, rose. This is OK. It’s not bad, but for the price it’s not worth it to me. I did get it cheaper in the mini tubes so it was worth trying. I would not re buy for the cost as there are better choices out there.

Antipodes Aura Manuka Honey Mask is the last I have to talk about. I got it off of the Naturisimo website that ships from the UK. This has easily become one of my favorite moisture masks. It is made in New Zealand. This is a creamy textured mask. I’ve talked about manuka honey in the past, it’s good for breakouts. This one is moisturizing and adds that antibacterial effect from the honey. The main ingredients are manuka honey, avocado oil, vitamin E, vanilla oil, mandarin oil, coumarin, carrot oil, Pohutuakawa flower extract and grapefruit seed extract. It’s a 75mL tube, and is moderately priced. I have started using this as a moisturizing mask and honey mask vs just honey. I would most definitely re purchase this again.

I have also tried the Omorovicza Gold Hydralifting Mask, which is not pictured. It feels nice on, it’s a thick cream, however every morning after I use it I break out somewhere, so I have not purchased this mask past the multiple samples I have tried. My favorites overall: Glam Glow, ilike, Sisley Eye and Black Rose, Antipodes.

Author: Michelle

Mom. Wife. Great Dane Lover. Artist turned RN. Almost 40 Beauty Lover & Blogger.

8 thoughts on “Moisturizing Face Masks Comparison: Glam Glow, ilike, Rodial, Sisley, Antipodes and More”

  1. Hey Michelle,
    Once I commented on a post I couldn't stop commenting again! lol.
    This is interesting as I'm interested in some of these masks (except glamglow I don't like the brand or the products I tried).
    I did get few decent samples of the Sisley Express Flower Gel Mask and the Eye contour one; but I didn't really like the Eye contour because I didn't notice any difference after trying it for 3 times. However, I do share your opinion about the Sisley Express Flower Gel Mask! I always felt that it is not worth the money because it isn't that hydrating like it's not what I expect from a hydrating mask. BUT, this saved my eyes numerous times. I suggest you try using it around your eyes and on your lids. I once got a horrible irritation that looked like eczema on both my upper and bottom lid, it was very dry and itchy and flaky, it was horrible. So I put this on my eye lids hoping it won't burn because there is nothing else I could use and it didn't burn as I recall (if it did it might have been for 2 secs only). I left it on my lids and the next day my lids were hydrated and the redness was better as well as the itchiness so I kept using it as eye healing cream till I got a treatment cream which has cortisone in it (it was a bad irritation). Since then I started using my sample (which lasted me a good time) around my eyes and on my face as a healing gel whenever I need it and it does help to calm things down; I always leave it overnight or all day. I also would use my serum and light oil first then put this on top. You should try it as a leave in eye mask and for your redness.
    I hope that you get good results. Bare in mind that I purchased chantcaille jasmin mask for the same purpose, healing, but it burns when I first put it on for a good minute then it ok, but I didn't find it calming or hydrating despite all the good reviews about it! I find Evelom rescue and Sisley express flower gel masks much much better.

    I'm however still on the fence about it. I don't know if its worth or not! I didn't like it at first but now I do have good uses for it; I just hope that I can get more samples of it so I don't have to spend my money on it.

    Have a good day.

    Like

  2. I like Sisley, they have well done items, they just charge a absurd amount for what it really is. I like the eye mask purely to keep my eyes from drying out while wearing a mask. I wasn't looking for more than that. The stupidly expensive gel eye masks are better for instant results eye masks. I just have a hard time splurging on them. I hear First Aid has a cheap dupe for the Sisley eye mask, I have to throw it on my list one day.

    You're not sure if the Sisley Express Flower is worth it? Buy samples off eBay from Taiwan or Japan. They sell the mini tubes in groups for a fraction of what they retail for. And sign up for their subscription box if you haven't, seems like you like their stuff for less than $10 a month you can play with more Sisley.

    Like

  3. I just typed a lengthy response just to have it deleted by accident.
    I'm not in the U.S so no subscription box for me. I also don't like subscription boxes.
    As for eye masks; have you tried the Skyn Iceland eye gels? They are way better than the Sisley eye mask (at least to me). I do leave them on for a longer time than recommended as I tried both ways and found it way better to leave it on longer. It hydrates de-puffs and smoothes the skin and the fine lines. I highly recommend you try them and they aren't expensive as well which is good.
    I only tried creams (that do not exceed 250$) from Sisley and that was back in the day when I only had to buy eye cream and face cream lol. Their stuff is ridiculously expensive and I don't find the other products and their ingredients are worth the price. I also got a samples of the milk and the toner which people rave about all the time; I tried using several times but I don't like them, they are just basic and the milk feels heavy to me.

    Like

  4. I agree sisley is overpriced for what it is. Some nice textures for basic creams. If I get it from selfridges I only pay 2/3 of what it costs here. I might try Skynn ones. I think gel eye masks are the best hydration wise (the Verso ones are amazing) but they're so overpriced. I have a hard time spending money on them.

    Like

  5. LOL THOSE VERSO MASKS have been on my list for a long time! They are expensive but they pretty good reviews and I am so tempted; the Sisley black rose and La Mer's sheet mask as well. I have been wanting to try them for a very long time but couldn't justify the price.

    I did try the SKII masks (in case they are on your list to try), and they were a gift because I do think they are pricey. And I didn't like them to be honest and for some reason the SKII eye mask gave me dark circles, immediately after removing the eye mask I noticed that my skin got darker (and I tried more than once just to be sure). Other people love it and claims it brightens their circles (I don't have any lol but it gave me ones).

    I always eyed the verso kit too, one day I'll get it and the eye serum. I did try the face serum and finished the bottle and haven't repurchased because its kind of buttery and makes my face oily so its better to be used at night (I still don't like buttery textures the thick buttery ones not creamy buttery). I did love it though, tightened my pores and made my face very smooth and nice, maybe slightly more even too. It is very gentle too and if I compare it with moonlight by kypris, the Verso face serum gave me better results because it made my skin so smooth whereas kypris moonlight did everything else similarly except the smoothness.

    I can justify expensive creams because they last a long time but not masks! Unless I get a sample and really looove it and can't stop myself from repurchasing. I have a friend who is totally the opposite; she buys Sisley masks for examples but never their creams.

    BTW what I loved about the Sisley cream I tried and can't remember which one it was but I think its the one with cucumber, is that it firms immediately and moisturise and does not get greasy after few hours which I hate.

    Like

Leave a comment